Fortegra’s Response to Coronavirus (COVID-19). Click Here to Learn More.
877-775-3274
 

Deactivating ‘Find My iPhone’ on your Device

A user has two different options to remove ‘Find My iPhone’ from their device: in the “Settings” on the device or through the iCloud user account.

Important: If your returned device is locked and/or does not have ‘Find My iPhone’ turned off, you could be charged up to $850.

Option One:
Device

  1. Open your settings and select the Apple ID user’s name at the top of the menu.

Select Settings

  1. Select ‘Find My’, ‘Find My iPhone’, then toggle to “OFF” position in the menu. Enter Apple ID credentials when prompted and select “Turn Off” to deactivate ‘Find My iPhone’.

Select iCloud

  1. Return to the main settings menu and select “General”. Scroll to the bottom and select “Reset”.

Tap Turn Off

  1. Select “Erase All Content and Settings”. Then select “Erase iPhone” from the pop-up menu at the bottom. Confirm “Erase iPhone” again.

Option Two:
iCloud.com

  1. Sign into iCloud.com using your Apple ID credentials.

iCloud Login

  1. Select ‘Find iPhone’ icon in the menu at the bottom right. Click “All Devices” at the top of the page and select the device that was sent to Fortegra.

iCloud Dashboard

  1. Select “Erase iPhone” in menu on upper right side and select “Erase” in the next pop-up menu.

Tap Erase iPhone

  1. Reenter Apple ID credentials and select “trust” if prompted. Leave the text fields blank – do NOT enter a phone number or message. Click “Next” and “Done” to start erasing. Once erased, select “Remove from Account” then “Remove” in the pop-up.

Device is now reset, wiped, and removed from the user account.